The MAIF Complaints Committee

The MAIF Complaints Committee (the Committee) is managed by the Department of Health and was established in 2018. The Committee consists of three members: an independent representative; a public health representative; and an industry representative; and held its first meeting on 24 October 2018. The Department of Health is responsible for all associated secretariat functions of this Committee.

Page last updated: 09/11/2021

Independent representative and Chair: Adjunct Professor Debra Thoms

Professor Debra Thoms was the Chief Nursing and Midwifery Officer for the Australian Government and responsible for providing high-level advice on nursing and midwifery issues. She also participated in the formulation and implementation of policy and strategic direction in relation to health care in Australia. Professor Debra Thoms was formerly the inaugural Chief Executive Officer of the Australian College of Nursing, a position she took up in mid-2012 following six years as the Chief Nursing and Midwifery Officer with NSW Health.

Public Health representative: Emeritus Professor Jane Scott

Emeritus Professor Jane Scott is a public health dietitian whose research related to early childhood nutrition has underpinned and influenced national and international policy and practice. She has contributed to the surveillance of infant feeding practices in Australia, and advised on the 2010 National Infant Feeding Survey and National Breastfeeding Indicators. Professor Scott was a member of the Commonwealth Department of Health Breastfeeding Expert Reference Group, which contributed to the development of the Australian National Breastfeeding Strategy: 2019 and Beyond. She is a Fellow of Dietitians Australia and, prior to her retirement at the end of 2020, was Deputy Head of the School of Public Health at Curtin University.

Industry representative: Ms Jan Carey - Chief Executive Officer, Infant Nutrition Council

Ms Jan Carey is the current CEO of the Infant Nutrition Council (INC), and was previously the Executive Director of Infant Formula Manufacturers' Association of Australia and the New Zealand Infant Formula Marketers' Association, prior to their amalgamation to form INC. Ms Jan Carey is also the industry representative on the Ministry of Health’s Compliance Panel in New Zealand. In 2013, Ms Carey was appointed to the Executive of the Governing Board for the International Special Dietary Food Industries Association (ISDI). ISDI is based in Brussels, represents the industry globally at Codex, World Health Assembly meetings and World Health Organization (WHO) Executive Board meetings.

The MAIF Complaints Committee Terms of Reference

The MAIF Complaints Committee Terms of Reference (PDF 170 KB)
The MAIF Complaints Committee Terms of Reference (Word 24 KB)

Declarations of Interest – MAIF Complaints Committee

The following declarations are current as of 1 November 2021.

Adjunct Professor Debra Thoms, Chair

Declared May 2020

Accepted invitation from Food Standards Australian New Zealand to Chair an Independent Expert Panel on the possible addition of 2′-O-fucosyllactose (2′-FL) alone or in combination with Lacto-N-neotetraose (LNnT), produced by microbial fermentation, in infant formula products and formulated supplementary foods for young children.

Emeritus Professor Jane Scott

Declared October 2021

Recipient of an Australian Government Department of Health, Child and Youth health grant to trial “Milk Man”, a breastfeeding app for fathers from rural and remote fathers in WA.

Co-investigator on a National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) Project Grant led by the University of Queensland.

Chair of the recently formed Australian Breastfeeding Association, WHO Code Taskforce.

Ms Jan Carey

Nil interests declared.